Songs I love – Stolen Car – Bruce Springsteen 

There comes a time when life takes you down a path that you did not see coming. Sometimes relationships go wrong and it’s all your fault. And sometimes you get into that relationship and the shadows that hid in the corner of our eyes come out and hang over you as time goes on. This song calls me and I can feel that shadow and the pain that Bruce sings about. Sometimes you do things so that the end does not come from you but an outside force, sometimes you pray that the end comes…sometimes the end does not come.

“Stolen Car”
I met a little girl and I settled down

In a little house out on the edge of town

We got married, and swore we’d never part

Then little by little we drifted from each other’s hearts
At first I thought it was just restlessness

That would fade as time went by and our love grew deep

In the end it was something more I guess

That tore us apart and made us weep
And I’m driving a stolen car

Down on Eldridge Avenue

Each night I wait to get caught

But I never do
She asked if I remembered the letters I wrote

When our love was young and bold

She said last night she read those letters

And they made her feel one hundred years old
And I’m driving a stolen car

On a pitch black night

And I’m telling myself I’m gonna be alright

But I ride by night and I travel in fear

That in this darkness I will disappear

Written by Bruce Springsteen

Leave a Reply

